Blue and green should not be seen?

An extract from The Dormouse and the Doctor, A.A. Milne:-

The Dormouse turned over to shut out the sight
Of the endless chrysanthemums (yellow and white).
“How lovely,” he thought, “to be back in a bed
Of delphiniums (blue) and geraniums (red).”
 

 

 

 

Sometimes I feel just like the dormouse in A.A.Milne’s poem: trapped in a world of a colour not of my own choosing.  My problem is I don’t like trees, which is tricky living in this densely forested region of southern Sweden. I’m surrounded by great, grey, green conifers. I feel claustrophobic, landlocked and trapped.

And I long for the open vistas of the coast; the space and the balmy, blue, black sea.

So, when I’m feeling down, I just stop; shut my eyes tight and, like the dormouse; imagine myself Somewhere Else Instead. And I am so HAPPY.

 

 

 

2 comments

  1. Sat in the concrete and granite world of the city, I would love to live amongst the trees. On the other hand, I think the novelty would soon wear off for my wife.

Leave a Reply

